From: Academic Council Discussion List < UCACOUN-L@LISTSERV.UCOP.EDU> On Behalf Of Michael

LaBriola

Sent: Monday, February 3, 2020 10:43 AM **To:** UCACOUN-L@LISTSERV.UCOP.EDU

Subject: (Systemwide Senate Review) BOARS Recommendation to Eliminate the ACT/SAT Essay

Requirement

CHAIRS OF SENATE DIVISIONS AND COMMITTEES:

On behalf of Senate Chair Bhavnani, I am forwarding for systemwide Senate review proposal from the Board of Admissions and Relations with Schools (BOARS) to eliminate the SAT Essay/ACT Writing Test requirement for undergraduate admission.

Please submit comments to the Academic Senate office at SenateReview@ucop.edu by March 23, 2020 to allow us to compile and summarize comments for the Academic Council's April 1 meeting. As always, any committee that considers these matters outside its jurisdiction or charge may decline to comment.

Thanks very much, Michael

Michael LaBriola Assistant Director Systemwide Academic Senate 510.987.0162 February 3, 2020

CHAIRS OF SENATE DIVISIONS AND COMMITTEES:

Re: Systemwide Review of BOARS Recommendation to Eliminate the ACT/SAT Essay Requirement

Dear Colleagues,

I am forwarding for systemwide Academic Senate review the attached proposal from the Board of Admissions and Relations with Schools (BOARS) to eliminate the SAT Essay/ACT Writing Test requirement for undergraduate admission.

Please note that the BOARS recommendation is distinct from the Standardized Testing Task Force (STTF) recommendations, but we are conducting a systemwide Senate review of both sets of recommendations simultaneously, to enable a more comprehensive conversation about the use of standardized testing at UC.

Please submit comments to the Academic Senate office at Senate@eview@ucop.edu by March 23, 2020 to allow us to compile and summarize comments for the Academic Council's April 1 meeting. As always, any committee that considers these matters outside its jurisdiction or charge may decline to comment.

Sincerely, Kun & Kun & havan .

Kum-Kum Bhavnani, Chair

Academic Council

Encl.

cc: Academic Council

Senate Directors